24 March 2019 last updated at 09:35 GMT
Raina laments CSK bowling effort
Sunday 25 September 2011

Chennai Super Kings batsman Suresh Raina believes the home side should have bowled better to close out the game against the Mumbai Indians.

"It wasn't a case of complacency for we know that a match cannot be won until the last ball is bowled. But we certainly thought we were going to win the match midway through the match, after we had dismissed (Keiron) Pollard. We should have ensured that we bowl in good areas and field well. But such things happen in cricket and we would look to bounce back," he said.

Raina, who failed with the bat, picked two wickets for only six runs in two overs.

But surprisingly, Raina wasn't given another over and instead left-arm spinner Shadab Jakati, whom Lasith Malinga fetched for two successive sixes to set the tone for Mumbai's unlikely win, was introduced. However, Raina backed the decision.

"With two right-handed batsmen we thought it is better to go with a left-arm spinner, who spins the ball away from them.

And Jakati had until then bowled quite well. With regard to me bowling more, perhaps we will look forward to that in the next match," Raina said.

"(Lasith) Malinga played a brilliant innings and there was nothing much we could have done other than bowl in good areas, which we did," he said referring to Malinga's 24-ball 37 that gave Mumbai the win.

The total of 158, Raina reckoned, was adequate.

"It was a reasonably defendable total. But (Aiden) Blizzard and (Davy) Jacobs got off to a good start and scored a lot of runs in the powerplay overs, and that made a significant difference. But we did well to come back into the game," he opined.

BCCI donates IPL opening ceremony funds of Rs 20 crore for welfare of armed forces
The Committee of Administrators (CoA), running the BCCI, had decided to cancel the glitzy opening ceremony in the wake of the Pulwama terror attack in which 40 CRPF personnel were killed.
European T20 league confirmed as Euro T20 Slam
The new European T20 competition will take place in Ireland, Scotland and Netherlands.