28 November 2023 last updated at 17:26 GMT
IPL spot-fixing: Shirke, Shetty depose before SC
Friday 10 April 2015

Three BCCI officials were among four persons who deposed before the Supreme Court-appointed Justice Lodha Committee in relation to the IPL spot-fixing scandal.

Former BCCI secretary Sanjay Jagdale, current IPL governing council member Ajay Shirke and Prof R S Shetty, the Board's General Manager (Game Development) deposed before the committee, which was convened at a five star hotel in south Mumbai, it is learnt.

Shirke, a former BCCI treasurer, had resigned along with Jagdale in May 2013 in the wake of the IPL spot-fixing scandal.

The third person who deposed before the committee comprising former Chief Justice of India R M Lodha and Justices Ashok Bhan and R V Raveendran, was cricket columnist and author Makarand Waingankar.

The committee, set up on January 22, was given the mandate of deciding on the quantum of punishment to be imposed on former team principal of Chennai Super Kings, Gurunath Meiyappan, and co-owner of Rajasthan Royals, Raj Kundra, who were both found guilty of betting in IPL, and to decide on the fates of their respective teams.

Setting up the committee of judges headed by former CJI Lodha, the two-member Supreme Court bench of Justices T S Thakur and F M I Khalifulla had said "to remove bias" and to have a process which will be "objective and transparent" there was a need for an independent committee to decide on the issues.

The committee will further probe the allegation of betting against BCCI's chief operating officer Sunder Raman and, if found guilty, will award punishment.

The SC bench had asked the committee to issue notices to Meiyappan, Kundra and others, complete its work in six months and place a report before it.

Further, the panel will make recommendations for bringing out reforms in the BCCI.


BCCI bags whopping $230 million in ICC revenue share
Pakistan Cricket Board expressed disappointment over its small share of 5.75% of the ICC revenues
Asian Games 2023: Indian cricket teams to play for the first time
Cricket has featured twice at the Asian Games but did not figure in the last Games held in Jakarta in 2018.