21 February 2024 last updated at 21:37 GMT
Symonds replaces Sachin in MI squad
Thursday 22 September 2011

Dashing Australian all-rounder Andrew Symonds has been named as Sachin Tendulkar’s replacement in the Mumbai Indians squad after the Indian batting legend was ruled out with a toe injury.

The Technical Committee has approved a number of changes in the Mumbai squad. In place of Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Ali Murtaza, Munaf Patel, Dhawal Kulkarni, the Mumbai Indians have nominated Andrew Symonds, Dilhara Fernando, R. Sathish, Sarul Kanwar, Abu Nechim Ahmed as the replacements.

The CLT20 Technical Committee has also received medical reports ruling a further two of the 23 Mumbai Indians-contracted players, Aditya Tare and Pawan Suyal, out of the tournament. This means a total of eight players have been ruled out with tournament ending injuries.

In the current circumstances, if the Mumbai Indians suffer one more injury to an Indian player, they will be unable to field a team due to CLT20 rules restricting teams to a maximum of four overseas players in any one match.

As a result, the CLT20 Governing Council has approved a recommendation by the Technical Committee that to ensure the integrity of the tournament the Mumbai Indians will be permitted to select up to five overseas players in any one team. This recommendation is also applicable for all other teams likewise.

The Mumbai Indians will play its first match against Chennai Super Kings at 2000 on Saturday at MA Chidambaram Stadium.

Mumbai Squad: Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Andrew Symonds, James Franklin, Aiden Blizzard, Davy Jacobs, Kieron Pollard, Dilhara Fernando, R. Sathish,  Ambati Rayudu, Tirumalasetti Suman, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sarul Kanwar, Abu Nechim Ahmed.

ICC lacks strong leadership in current times: ex-CEO Lorgat
The former ICC boss said barring Khawaja's peace slogans on shoes showed ICC lacked consistency in applying its rules
Waugh warns cricket boards for ignoring Test cricket
Australia Great Warns ICC, BCCI Over 'Irrelevant Legacy'