21 February 2024 last updated at 21:37 GMT
Sammy retained as Windies captain
Wednesday 24 August 2011

Four uncapped players have been called up to a new-look West Indies 14-man squad for the Twenty20 doubleheader against England next month, with the selectors re-appointing Darren Sammy as the captain.

The side will be without international T20 stars Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard, none of whom were eligible after missing the Caribbean T20 Championship.

No Trinidad and Tobago players were considered because of their participation in the Champions League next month.

Chairman of selectors Clyde Butts said he was confident the new players in the squad would perform up to scratch.

"Bascombe is a Twenty20 player who has shown signs that he can take apart bowling attacks at the top of the order while Charles has been consistent in the past two years and has shown that he is capable of understanding the requirements of batting in the opening position in the shortest format," Butts noted.

"We have identified Bonner as someone who - because he is exciting with the bat, ball and in the field - is a developing player and we are looking to give him some exposure at the highest level."

He added: "Nkrumah has also had excellent reports from the Sagicor HPC batting coach Carl Hooper.

While exciting fast bowling all-rounder Andre Russell has been included and will join speedster Fidel Edwards and leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo, in spearheading the attack.

WI Squad:

Darren Sammy (c), Christopher Barnwell, Miles Bascombe, Devendra Bishoo, Nkrumah Bonner, Johnson Charles, Derwin Christian, Fidel Edwards, Danza Hyatt, Ashley Nurse, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Dwayne Smith.

ICC lacks strong leadership in current times: ex-CEO Lorgat
The former ICC boss said barring Khawaja's peace slogans on shoes showed ICC lacked consistency in applying its rules
Waugh warns cricket boards for ignoring Test cricket
Australia Great Warns ICC, BCCI Over 'Irrelevant Legacy'