18 April 2024 last updated at 15:13 GMT
Delhi thrash Pune by eight wkts
Tuesday 24 April 2012

Captain Virender Sehwag produced an unbeaten knock of 87 as Delhi Daredevils scored a comfortable eight-wicket victory over Pune Warriors to remain on top of the Indian Premier League on Tuesday.

The hard-hitting opener stroked three sixes and 10 fours off 48 balls as Delhi scored 148-2 in only 16 overs after restricting Pune to 146-2 at Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium.

Delhi lost opener Mahela Jayawardene cheaply as he was run-out following a mix-up with Sehwag, but the Delhi skipper made up with an 87-run stand for the second wicket with Kevin Pietersen (27) to put Delhi on course to victory.

Sehwag completed the win in style as he smashed leg spinner Rahul Sharma for a four and six off consecutive deliveries.

For Pune, Manish Pandey top-scored with 80 not out while Robin Uthappa chipped in with an unbeaten 60.

Pune failed to find the momentum after the early dismissals of left-handed openers Jesse Ryder and captain Sourav Ganguly before being steadied by Pandey and Uthappa.

Ryder was bowled by Pathan without scoring off a delivery that kept low, while Ganguly scooped one to third man off Morne Morkel after scoring 1.

Pandey and Uthappa were slow to begin with and the scoreboard read an unimpressive 50-2 at the end of 10 overs.

But Pandey, who was the first Indian to score a century in the IPL during the inaugural edition in 2008, opened up with some fine shots down the ground and finished with three sixes and seven fours off 56 balls. Uthappa also batted well for six boundaries off 58 balls.

Delhi avenged its 20-run loss to the same side three days ago, and has five wins from seven games. Pune has four wins from eight.


ICC lacks strong leadership in current times: ex-CEO Lorgat
The former ICC boss said barring Khawaja's peace slogans on shoes showed ICC lacked consistency in applying its rules
Waugh warns cricket boards for ignoring Test cricket
Australia Great Warns ICC, BCCI Over 'Irrelevant Legacy'