18 April 2024 last updated at 15:13 GMT
IPL 5: DD thrash MI by 37 runs
Saturday 28 April 2012

Power-batting by Delhi top-order helped Daredevils consolidate their top position in the IPL standings as the hosts thrashed Mumbai Indians by 37 runs in their return-leg Indian Premier League match at Ferozeshah Kotla stadium on Friday.

Chasing a massive 208-run target, Mumbai lost wickets at regular intervals and could managed only 170/9 in their 20 overs.

The victory was Delhi's sixth in eight matches and now they have 12 points in the IPL table, three more than their nearest competitors. Mumbai remained stranded at the seventh position after the lost, though they are just four points behind the table-toppers.

Shahbaz Nadeem (2-35), Umesh Yadav (2-36) and Irfan Pathan (2-46) took two Mumbai wickets each whereas Morne Morkel (1-21) was the most economical of the lots.

Mumbai lost Robin Peterson (2) soon after Nadeem's double strike as their chase wither under the pressure of a huge target.

Young Nadeem struck twice with successive deliveries to rock the Mumbai run chase as the visitors were reduced to 139/6 in 15.2 overs. Nadeem dismissed Keiron Pollard (16) and Ambati Rayudu (62) in his last over to finish his spell with 2 for 35 runs in four overs.

Rayudu played a gem of an innings to revive Mumbai chase but couldn't finish the job. He hit three sixes and five boundaries in his quick-fire 39-ball knock. Pollard too hit a six and a four in his 9-ball cameo.

Mumbai lost Dinesh Karthik (40) after he added valuable 96-run stand with Rayudu.

Delhi pacer Ajit Agarkar clean bowled Karthik to put an end to the dangerous looking fourth wicket partnership for Mumbai. Karthik hit seven boundaries in his brilliant 28-ball innings.

Rayudu hit two consecutive sixes off Shahbaz Nadeem to complete his fifty in just 29 balls as Mumbai slowly revive their run chase.

Rayudu and Karthik hit some lusty boundaries to revive Mumbai innings after the visitors lost three top-order batsmen inside four overs.

Irfan Pathan dismissed Rohit Sharma (12) in the fourth over to reduce Mumbai to 19/3 in 3.1 overs. Rohit hit a six and a four in his 6-ball short stay on the pitch.

Pacer Morne Morkel scalped the big wicket of Sachin Tendulkar (7) in his first over to put Delhi in the front early in the Mumbai innings.

Left-arm swing bowler Irfan gave Delhi early breakthrough when he dismissed Mumbai opener Aiden Blizzard in the very first over without any run on the board.

Sent in to bat, late charge by Kevin Pietersen (50 not out) after a brilliant 135-run opening stand helped Delhi post 207/5 against Mumbai.

Pietersen smashed three big sixes and six fours in his 26-ball whirlwind knock to take Delhi total over 200.

Daredevils looked good for much more than they put on board when the opening pair of skipper Virender Sehwag (73) and Mahela Jayawardene (55) were batting. They added 135 runs in 13 overs to put a perfect platform for latter batsmen to play freely.

Sehwag was in his usual destructive best as he smacked four huge sixes and eight boundaries in his 39-ball blitzkrieg. Delhi lost their first wicket when Jayawardene got out in the 14th over. Jayawardene smashed eight boundaries in his 42-ball brilliant innings as he raced to his fifty in 39 balls.

Lasith Malinga took two wickets in consecutive balls in the penultimate over to halt the Delhi charge temporarily but in the end couldn't stop the table-toppers to cross the 200-run mark. Malinga trapped both Yogesh Nagar (0) and Ross Taylor (15) leg before wicket.

Taylor too hit two massive sixes in his 7-ball cameo innings.

Mumbai's Robin Peterson claimed three Delhi wickets to halt the Daredevils run charge. Peterson dismissed Irfan Pathan (0) and Sehwag in the 16th over after he removed Jayawardene in his previous over.

Delhi skipper Sehwag slammed quick-fire 30-ball fifty to lead Daredevils charge from the beginning.

Sehwag smacked three huge sixes and five boundaries to score his half-century as Delhi raced to hundred in just 10.4 overs without losing any wicket.

Openers Sehwag and Jayawardene gave Delhi a strong start as they hit Mumbai bowlers with total disdain all around the ground to the delight of jam-packed home fans. Delhi raced to fifty in just 5.5 overs.

Earlier, Mumbai skipper Harbhajan Singh won the toss and decided to field against Delhi.

Delhi have made one change, leaving out left-arm spinner Pawan Negi for veteran medium-pacer Ajit Agarkar.

For Mumbai, Aiden Blizzard replaced James Franklin, who is not fully fit for the match. Lasith Malinga returned to boost Mumbai attack.

"Chasing has been Delhi's strategy, but I don't mind batting first," said Delhi skipper Virender Sehwag.


Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (captain), Naman Ojha, Kevin Pietersen, Mahela Jayawardene, Ross Taylor, Yogesh Nagar, Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ajit Agarkar.

Mumbai Indians: Aiden Blizzard, Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh (captain), Robin Peterson, RP Singh, Lasith Malinga, Rahul Shukla.


ICC lacks strong leadership in current times: ex-CEO Lorgat
The former ICC boss said barring Khawaja's peace slogans on shoes showed ICC lacked consistency in applying its rules
Waugh warns cricket boards for ignoring Test cricket
Australia Great Warns ICC, BCCI Over 'Irrelevant Legacy'